Terumo BCT to Showcase Scaling Cell Therapy Manufacturing Case Studies

Jim Beltzer, PhD Senior Cell Processing Specialist, Terumo BCT

Throughout this webinar, participants will learn from a number of Terumo BCT case studies, describing how process development and economic goals were achieved in both industry and academic settings. Attendees will learn from new results of T-cell expansion using a hollow-fiber bioreactor system, along with techniques for scaling production of mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) and new approach to viral vector production.

Results include up to a 500-fold expansion of T-cells in 12 days, 40 percent reduction in cost of goods (COGs) of growing cells for an allogeneic therapy, and automated viral vector production with titers similar to flask-based processes. Particular attention will be directed toward the process changes often needed to meet these goals.

The speaker for this event will be Dr. Jim Beltzer, senior cell Processing specialist at Terumo BCT. Beltzer earned a doctorate in biochemistry from the Purdue University. Prior to joining Terumo BCT, Beltzer was the lead scientist for the research and development of Corning® Synthemax®, a synthetic growth surface for the culture of human embryonic stem cells at Corning Life Sciences. He was a co-founder of RETT Corporation and was a key player in the industrialization of several technology platforms.

LabRoots will host this even May 31, 2017, beginning at 6:00 p.m. PDT, 9:00 a.m. SGT, 12:00 p.m. AEDT. To read more about this event, learn of the continuing education credits offered, or to register for free, click here.

ABOUT TERUMO BCT

Terumo BCT, a global leader in blood component, therapeutic apheresis and cellular technologies, is the only company with the unique combination of apheresis collections, manual and automated…

Read the complete version from the Source…

Back to Top